The Now Platform® Washington DC release is live. Watch now!

Help
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jake Gillespie
Kilo Guru

As a ServiceNow Technical Architect, I often need to write code to perform complex functionality within the platform that cannot be achieved through the available configuration methods. In addition to this, I also see a lot of code written by other Administrators, Consultants and Developers etc. To say that this code varies in style and complexity would be quite the understatement. While it is understandable that not everyone thinks the same way, the problem is the inconsistency throughout the code, and a general lack of understanding or knowledge of the ServiceNow Technical Best Practices.

In this multi part blog series, I'll seek to identify and explain some of the ServiceNow Technical Best Practices, as well as my own tips for writing reliable and reusable code, not to mention why they are important to follow. This article will focus on scripting in general, so if you haven't studied software development before, or are simply new to scripting, then stay tuned!

Use consistent styling

First and foremost, code should be indented consistently. Much like reading a book, developers learn to read (and write) code by knowing how the control (program flow) will branch based on conditions or loops etc. If code is not indented consistently, it becomes very difficult to understand what the code is doing, and therefore how to successfully modify it. By using indentation, you can avoid having to count how many open or close curly braces there are, when identifying which IF or FOR block the current line of code falls within. Trust me, it's easier! And, considering that ServiceNow offers a "Format Code" function as part of the Script field toolbar, you really have no excuses.

Know your data types