Announcing the Global SNUG Board of Directors. Learn more here

Help
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How does Licensing works for ServiceNow?

Rajanmehta
Mega Guru

Hello

I am new to ServiceNow and wanted to find out how Licensing works?

I have some idea that, we have to pay licensing fees for Admin and ITIL users roles.

Is there licensing fees for each type of roles? Do we have to pay licensing fees for users with pa-viewer role? (Performance Analytics viewer)

Please advise.

Thanks,

Rajan Mehta

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Goran WitchDoc
ServiceNow Employee
ServiceNow Employee

License is a djungle and changes now and then. Resulting that not all customers have the same license type depending on when it was bought. I would recommend to talk with the ServiceNow representive.

But roughly, and latest I was in touch with it... ServiceNow is built on modules. You got some "plattform" like knowledge, CMDB, Workflow etc. They are in accessible from all other modules. Then you got Plattform runtime licence. This is if you just using custom apps, Then you got ITSM for the "normal" ITIL thingies. PA, Facility etc. got a own license and so on.

And yea, what I know, you don't pay licenses for the end users.

This was just to get the big picture.

//Göran

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

Goran WitchDoc
ServiceNow Employee
ServiceNow Employee

License is a djungle and changes now and then. Resulting that not all customers have the same license type depending on when it was bought. I would recommend to talk with the ServiceNow representive.

But roughly, and latest I was in touch with it... ServiceNow is built on modules. You got some "plattform" like knowledge, CMDB, Workflow etc. They are in accessible from all other modules. Then you got Plattform runtime licence. This is if you just using custom apps, Then you got ITSM for the "normal" ITIL thingies. PA, Facility etc. got a own license and so on.