3 Replies · Latest reply on Jan 2, 2018 10:37 AM by Adam Stout

Script to both 'Count Distinct' & calculate 'Average Age'

Hey everyone,

Let me start by saying Im not a developer but that Im just dangerous enough to get by and understand basic coding concepts.

I ran into a situation where I need to count distinct records while also calculating those records average age (Current Date/Time - Opened Date/Time).  This is needed because I'm coming from a referenced Alert table that has a many to many relationship with INC records.

Basically I need a combined version of the below 2 screenshots.

What I would use to count distinct records

&

The below is what I would use to calculate average age of an INC

The script is pretty basic :

var diff=function(x,y){return y.dateNumericValue() - x.dateNumericValue();};

var days=function(x,y){return diff(x,y)/(24*60*60*1000);};

days(current.incident.opened_at, score_end);

Can someone at least help point me in the right direction ? My gut tells me this is an array type situation.

• Re: Script to both 'Count Distinct' & calculate 'Average Age'
          Adam Stout

Your description is leaving some important background.  There are often multiple ways of doing things but you have already started down a path that may not be the best.  Can you add more description of what you are trying to achieve with these indicators?

Can you use an indicator on the incident table and breakdown by what you need (what you are doing the counts by).  Then this should be straightforward as two indicators and will most likely produce more relevant records in the records tab (if you are keeping snapshots for it).